SPECIAL OFFERS

Sycamore Row (Jake Brigance)

Sycamore Row (Jake Brigance)

John Grisham takes you back to where it all began . . .

John Grisham’s A Time to Kill is one of the most popular novels of our time. Now we return to that famous courthouse in Clanton as Jake Brigance once again finds himself embroiled in a fiercely controversial trial-a trial that will expose old racial tensions and force Ford County to confront its tortured history.

Seth Hubbard is a wealthy man dying of lung cancer. He trusts no one. Before he hangs himself from a sycamore tree, Hubbard leaves a new, handwritten, will. It is an act that drags his adult children, his black maid, and Jake into a conflict as riveting and dramatic as the murder trial that made Brigance one of Ford County’s most notorious citizens, just three years earlier.

The second will raises far more questions than it answers. Why would Hubbard leave nearly all of his fortune to his maid? Had chemotherapy and painkillers affected his ability to think clearly? And what does it all have to do with a piece of land once known as Sycamore Row?

In Sycamore Row, John Grisham returns to the setting and the compelling characters that first established him as America’s favorite storyteller. Here, in his most assured and thrilling novel yet, is a powerful testament to the fact that Grisham remains the master of the legal thriller, nearly twenty-five years after the publication of A Time to Kill.

Publisher‏:‎Doubleday; 1st edition (October 22, 2013)
Language‏:‎English
Hardcover‏:‎447 pages
ISBN-10‏:‎0385537131
ISBN-13‏:‎978-0385537131
Item Weight‏:‎1.6 pounds
Dimensions‏:‎6.39 x 1.41 x 9.51 inches

Read More »
The 48 Laws of Power

The 48 Laws of Power

Amoral, cunning, ruthless, and instructive, this multi-million-copy New York Times bestseller is the definitive manual for anyone interested in gaining, observing, or defending against ultimate control – from the author of The Laws of Human Nature.

In the book that People magazine proclaimed “beguiling” and “fascinating,” Robert Greene and Joost Elffers have distilled three thousand years of the history of power into 48 essential laws by drawing from the philosophies of Machiavelli, Sun Tzu, and Carl Von Clausewitz and also from the lives of figures ranging from Henry Kissinger to P.T. Barnum.
 
Some laws teach the need for prudence (“Law 1: Never Outshine the Master”), others teach the value of confidence (“Law 28: Enter Action with Boldness”), and many recommend absolute self-preservation (“Law 15: Crush Your Enemy Totally”). Every law, though, has one thing in common: an interest in total domination. In a bold and arresting two-color package, The 48 Laws of Power is ideal whether your aim is conquest, self-defense, or simply to understand the rules of the game.


From the Publisher

New From Robert GreeneNew From Robert Greene

48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene

48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene

Publisher‏:‎Penguin Books; 1st edition (September 1, 2000)
Language‏:‎English
Paperback‏:‎452 pages
ISBN-10‏:‎0140280197
ISBN-13‏:‎978-0140280197
Reading age‏:‎18 years and up
Grade level‏:‎12 and up
Item Weight‏:‎1.59 pounds
Dimensions‏:‎9.1 x 6.4 x 1.3 inches

Read More »
The Woman in the Window: A Novel

The Woman in the Window: A Novel

#1 New York Times Bestseller – Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, and Gary Oldman – Available on Netflix on May 14, 2021

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, published in forty-one languages around the world and in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.


From the Publisher

Woman in the Window movie, Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, Gary OldmanWoman in the Window movie, Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, Gary Oldman

Publisher‏:‎William Morrow Paperbacks; Reprint edition (March 5, 2019)
Language‏:‎English
Paperback‏:‎464 pages
ISBN-10‏:‎0062678426
ISBN-13‏:‎978-0062678423
Item Weight‏:‎12 ounces
Dimensions‏:‎5.31 x 1.05 x 8 inches

Read More »
Normal People: A Novel

Normal People: A Novel

NOW AN EMMY-NOMINATED HULU ORIGINAL SERIES • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A stunning novel about the transformative power of relationships” (People) from the author of Conversations with Friends, “a master of the literary page-turner” (J. Courtney Sullivan).
 
ONE OF THE TEN BEST NOVELS OF THE DECADE—Entertainment Weekly

TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR—People, Slate, The New York Public Library, Harvard Crimson

AND BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR—The New York TimesThe New York Times Book Review, O: The Oprah Magazine, Time, NPR, The Washington Post, Vogue, Esquire, Glamour, Elle, Marie Claire, Vox, The Paris Review, Good Housekeeping, Town & Country

Connell and Marianne grew up in the same small town, but the similarities end there. At school, Connell is popular and well liked, while Marianne is a loner. But when the two strike up a conversation—awkward but electrifying—something life changing begins.

A year later, they’re both studying at Trinity College in Dublin. Marianne has found her feet in a new social world while Connell hangs at the sidelines, shy and uncertain. Throughout their years at university, Marianne and Connell circle one another, straying toward other people and possibilities but always magnetically, irresistibly drawn back together. And as she veers into self-destruction and he begins to search for meaning elsewhere, each must confront how far they are willing to go to save the other.

Normal People is the story of mutual fascination, friendship and love. It takes us from that first conversation to the years beyond, in the company of two people who try to stay apart but find that they can’t.
 
Praise for Normal People
 
“[A] novel that demands to be read compulsively, in one sitting.”The Washington Post

“Arguably the buzziest novel of the season, Sally Rooney’s elegant sophomore effort . . . is a worthy successor to Conversations with Friends. Here, again, she unflinchingly explores class dynamics and young love with wit and nuance.”The Wall Street Journal

“[Rooney] has been hailed as the first great millennial novelist for her stories of love and late capitalism. . . . [She writes] some of the best dialogue I’ve read.”The New Yorker


From the Publisher

Normal People by Sally Rooney

normal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;bookernormal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;booker

normal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;bookernormal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;booker

normal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;bookernormal people;sally rooney;coming of age;fiction;book club pick;conversations with friends;booker

MORE BY SALLY ROONEY

Written with gemlike precision and marked by a sly sense of humor, Conversations with Friends is wonderfully alive to the pleasures and dangers of youth, and the messy edges of female friendship.

Delve deeper into the Emmy- & Golden Globe–nominated Hulu series based on Sally Rooney’s bestselling novel with this must-have collection of the Normal People scripts, featuring behind-the-scenes photos & an introduction by director Lenny Abrahamson.

Publisher‏:‎Hogarth; Later Printing edition (April 16, 2019)
Language‏:‎English
Hardcover‏:‎288 pages
ISBN-10‏:‎1984822179
ISBN-13‏:‎978-1984822178
Item Weight‏:‎14.4 ounces
Dimensions‏:‎5.8 x 0.99 x 8.6 inches

Read More »
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma

The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma

#1 New York Times bestseller

“Essential reading for anyone interested in understanding and treating traumatic stress and the scope of its impact on society.” —Alexander McFarlane, Director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies

A pioneering researcher transforms our understanding of trauma and offers a bold new paradigm for healing in this New York Times bestseller
 
Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world’s foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers’ capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust. He explores innovative treatments—from neurofeedback and meditation to sports, drama, and yoga—that offer new paths to recovery by activating the brain’s natural neuroplasticity. Based on Dr. van der Kolk’s own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score exposes the tremendous power of our relationships both to hurt and to heal—and offers new hope for reclaiming lives.


From the Publisher

The Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain BooksThe Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain Books

The Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain BooksThe Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain Books

The Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain BooksThe Body Keeps The Score, Bessel van der Kolk, M.D., Self Help, Brain Books

Publisher‏:‎Penguin Publishing Group; Reprint edition (September 8, 2015)
Language‏:‎English
Paperback‏:‎464 pages
ISBN-10‏:‎0143127748
ISBN-13‏:‎978-0143127741
Reading age‏:‎18 years and up
Item Weight‏:‎13.4 ounces
Dimensions‏:‎1.1 x 5.4 x 8.4 inches

Read More »

READ THE LATEST POSTS

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top